Roasted Chick Peas turned Roasted Chick Peee-yew.

So… every health/diet/weight obsessed, pinterest junkie has probably come across the recent recipe raves for roasted chick peas in some way, shape, or form. As a somewhat new chick pea experimenter who happened to have all of the few simple ingredients on hand, I decided to try my hand at one of the recipes this afternoon. I washed, drained, and dried the chick peas to the best of my ability. After digging out all of the leftover pieces of napkin from the drying (there were no instructions on how to dry chick peas), I laid them out on the pan and coated them with 1/2 teaspoon of each salt, black pepper, and chilli powder, then rolled them around in the mixture. (I did not use any oil, despite the recipes instructions to do so). After bathing them in the afforementioned spices, I popped them in the oven at 425 for 30 minutes. After about the first ten minutes I began to smell an awful burning smell and after a handful of negative comments from my kids like “what stinks” and “what are you burning now,” I finally decided to investigate the situation. Being the sloppy cook that I am, it looked like I had rolled a few of the peas right off of the tray, directly onto the hot oven coils… slippery little buggers, aren’t they? I shrugged it off and decided what’s done is done and let the rest of the peas cook. I took them out half way through to roll them around as it seemed like some of them were blackening on the bottom. At the end of the thirty minutes I removed them from the oven and picked out and discarded of the handful or two of peas that ended up totally charred somehow…

If you’re wondering how they came out, I’d  have to say that I will probably not make them again. If you are just munching to munch they may be a good go to snack as they are very dry and you can’t eat but two or three without a drink which forces you to eat them slowly…. Learned this real quick when I popped a whole fistfull in my mouth and nearly choked trying to get them down. But… if you’re like me and looking for something to replace an unhealthy salty snack you actually down for it’s taste, you probably won’t find much satisfaction here. 

Leave a comment