3.2…..check

Yesterday was full of tiny victories. Each one on its own seems insignificant, but in combination, all summed up to be a pretty great day. 

We defeated challenge #1 early in the morning when we all made it out the door and into the car for preschool with no major catastrophes; no melt downs, no runaways, and no band aid worthy boo boos. Three out of four kids buckled (or half buckled at least) themselves into the car and that alone had me feeling like the day was off to an incredible start. 

With TF off to preschool, the others and I headed straight for the YMCA. After smoothly dropping the other three munchkins in the playroom with their friends and favorite teacher Miss L, I knew I had to face the treadmill. My recent eliptical binge as a means of burning more calories in less time had me feeling like a stranger to the running machine. As mentioned yesterday, with a 5K in less than two weeks, I didn’t have a choice. If nothing more, I needed to reassure myself that I could maintain a steady pace through the entire 3.2. Luckily a cousin of mine ended up on the machine next to me and having someone to chat with almost made me wish the miles took longer than they did so we’d had more time for catching up. 3.2- no problem. After a short time on the eliptical machine to burn off a few additional calories, I picked up my playroom kiddos and we were off to the park. 

Following, we grabbed TF from preschool and ended up safely back at home. After lunch, I felt on top of the world as I conquered three loads of laundry, straightened up the house, and spent some QT with the kiddos. Later, with three out of four down for their naps I embraced a little snuggle time with my niece CJ. Post naps, we soaked up a bit more sunshine in the yard until it was time to come in for dinner. Sat down together as a family to enjoy a hearty chicken and brussel sprouts dish  and I was back at it again.

I successfully managed the quickest pack job ever when I threw some jeans/hoodie combos, a pair of jammies, some workout clothes, and my outdoor running shoes messily into my overnight bag for our weekend trip (leaving today at 1). Later I rewarded myself with some retail therapy at my sister in laws Celebrating Home Party (btw, these types of parties are the ONLY time I ever pay full price for non-food products but please note- I ALWAYS take advantage of the spend this save this special deals). I was extra proud of myself for purchasing a birthday gift, as I usually use these kind of parties to shop for myself and justify it to TM as my need to support others. 

To many it would seem like a pretty simple day, but I felt victorious in making it through the day with the majority of my to do list in check and our typical daily tantrums almost non-existant. It really is the simple things….

Leave a comment