why do we always celebrate with food?

After yesterdays chocolate fondue binge in honor of Mother’s Day with a moms group I participate in that is housed at our church, I found myself remembering and dwelling on (nearly beating myself up over) an old weight watchers QOD (question of the day). “

When is the last time we’ve socialized without food?” I psych myself up with this question before almost every social function I attend, with anticipation that food will be on the guest list. I remind myself how much better victory feels than failure tastes and assure myself I can attend a social function without making a b-line straight for the dessert table. I know I have willpower and I know how to use it, but for some reason every time I’m left standing before a table full of tasty treats with fellow overindulgers, my willpower takes a vacay. So, once again, knowing chocolate fondue and all of its high calorie dippable friends would be waiting for me yesterday morning, I promised myself a taste wouldn’t hurt, but I would not, I repeat not, overindulge…

In a perfect world, I’d love to follow up that statement by saying that I stuck to my guns and only had a taste to satisfy my sweet tooth but… I guess if the world was perfect that wouldn’t leave us very much to write about. So I’m sure by now you’ve already guessed what actually happened. Yes, one taste of that chocolate fondue and I was reaching for anything in sight to dunk next. I’m pretty sure I would’ve eaten cardboard if it was the only thing left to lap up that warm chocolate. Even after my belly was so full, I swore my jeans were soon going to pop a button, I managed to stuff two more chocolate covered marshmallows and a chocolate covered piece of fudge into my mouth. Yes, you read that right. I dunked chocolate fudge into the chocolate fondue.

When the gathering ended and all was said and done I felt like the fattest pig on the planet and once again vowed that I will never do that to myself again. Isn’t this all wrong? Aren’t we supposed to have willpower in front of others and then misplace it when were all alone and think no one is watching? Not me. If any of you are like me then you can have great success in your own home when your all alone and not tempted by these delicious, destructive treats simply because you don’t buy them, but as soon as you step out into the world of normalcy where everyone else has not had to watch what theyve eaten for the last fifteen years, you crumble. And when I say you, I mean me.

And so here I find myself again praying for self control before heading out to my daughters preschool graduation this evening. Will I stand strong through the light refreshments or will I once again allow the tumultuous treats to take victory in sabatoging my otherwise fairly successful (so far) day?

I’ll get back to you on that…. Specific goal #3 (see previous posts)- allow myself one small indulgence from the dessert table and then WALK AWAY! 

Leave a comment